Top 10 Awesome Moments/Places in Central America

From a recent conversation that I had with a group of friends back home in Canada, I realized that I get this question a lot – “what are some of the crazy highlights of your trip so far?”. There seems to be so many ‘lists’ on social media lately so I figured I would make my own. After travelling all the way through Central America from Mexico City to Panama City, here are the top 10 awesome moments of my adventure.

I started by making a list of all the places I’ve been and cut it down to the top 10 moments with a few honourable mentions along the way (cause it was really hard to pick just 10!)

10) Caye Caulker, Belize

Caye Caulker, Belize

This place was certainly quite memorable for me. My sister and brother-in-law joined me on this part of my trip – and it was filled with delicious caribbean food, beautiful crystal blue waters, and the best hot sauce in all of central america – I had to mention that for those who know of my love for hot sauce. Top it off with meeting some great people, playing late night bean bag toss drinking games and jumping off the dock under the moonlight. Caye Caulker just had a great relaxed vibe, and had to make it on my top ten list!

Honourable mention: Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica – late night antics trying to find someone, a bike ride to Manzanillo, and a visit to a local school would truly be the highlight of this caribbean town.

9) Ciudad de Panama, Panama

IMG_9776

That skyline! I really enjoyed this city for its modern feel, access to craft beer, views of the pacific and a delicious seafood market. I also hold the memory of travelling with some great people, getting tattoos, and having some epic ping pong matches at my hostel in Casco Viejo. Taking a trip to the top of the elusive Trump tower, $1 Gin and Tonics at Happy Hour and navigating on a metro train system were part of the overall experience here in Panama City.

8) Antigua, Guatemala

IMG_8440

This was a beautiful city surrounded by incredible volcanos and known for it’s colonial architecture and ruins throughout the city from earthquakes of the past. I loved Antigua for it’s cool bars, and amazing cafes. It’s certainly true that people you meet travelling can really have an impact on whether you like a place or not. I already liked Antigua, but it was great to spend time with my new friends Becky and Saul here as well and was certainly hard to leave when the time came.

Honourable Mention: Playa El Cuco, El Salvador – specifically staying at La Tortuga Verde – which was a backpacker resort. Surfing every morning would have to be the highlight with a great group of fellow travellers.

7) Little Corn Island, Nicaragua

IMG_9105

Ahh the island life, literally. A place with no cars and some of the most incredible beaches I’ve ever seen. Little corn was a magical place with every part of the island having something different to offer. Climbing trees for coconuts and breaking it open for fresh coco water, pub quiz nights at the island hot spot, snorkel trips and playing with a reef shark, seafood picnic on the beach, an awesome lighthouse hostel, great people… the list goes on! I can’t forget to mention some of the best diving I’ve ever done including an awesome bioluminescence night dive. I’m certain I will be back here!

6) Semuc Champey, Guatemala

View of Semuc Champay pools from El Mirador

Another great spot in Guatemala! The natural pools at Semuc Champey were quite the experience, jumping from pool to pool after a hike up overlooking the whole region. Throw in a candle light tour through caves, a giant swing and a 10m jump of a bridge – I’d say I got my adrenaline fix right here.

5) Tulum, Mexico

IMG_7283

One word: Cenotes. The chance to go scuba diving in underwater caves would have to be the biggest highlight here in Tulum. I went diving in about 5 different cenotes and thoroughly enjoyed each and every one of them, especially one known as ‘The Pit’ which was about a 35m dive into an amazing cave. Tulum also had a great mexican nightlife, and it was a short bike ride to the beach. One of my favourite hostels – Jose at Mama’s home is also one of the reasons why my Tulum experience was so memorable.

Honourable mention: Puerto Escondido, Mexico – surf lesson, delicious cheap fresh coconut water and the main highlight being able to release baby turtles into the ocean while enjoying a spectacular sunset.

4) San Blas Islands, Panama

Lunch stop on this island in San Blas

Boat, beach, secluded island, party, boat, beach, party, secluded island… and repeat. 4 days of adventure in the San Blas islands with some great travellers (wolf pack shoutout), and some unbelievable food, including lobster night which I think I ate the most food I’ve ever eaten on this trip. Beach volleyball, late night dance parties, boataroake (boat karaoke) – San Blas will be an adventure not to be forgotten except for the repetitive hangover, I would like to forget that. Also, the opportunity to interact with an indigenous village was truly memorable.

3) Treehouse, Poste Rojo, Nicaragua

IMG_8628

This list would not be complete without my 5 week experience at the Treehouse hostel in Nicaragua. Where do I begin here? The people, the music, the ridiculous outfits, sunsets, hammocks, watching sunrises from hammocks, late night parties, early morning breakfasts, full moons, painting signs, beer runs, dance offs, stubbed toes, sprained hips, scorpions and machetes and two adorable amazing husky puppies that were probably the highlight of my time at the Treehouse. They throw some epic weekend parties now so make sure you check them out in you’re near Granada.

2) San Pedro, Lago de Atitlan, Guatemala

IMG_7636

Certainly felt like I called this place home for a while. Best place in Central America to learn and practice Spanish (highly recommend Orbita Spanish School). I also had a chance to live with a local Guatemalan family for three weeks and celebrate Semana Santa (Holy week) with them. It was an unbelievable experience, from the alfumbras to the special holidays meals. Frequent nightly visits to Sublime for the cheapest happy hour in central america, drinking coffee while doing my spanish homework, and visiting other towns along the lake truly showcased the vibrant feel of this lake.

1) Volcan Acatenango, Guatemala

IMG_8012

The trek up Volcan Acatenango would have to be the #1 moment in my central american adventure. My passion for hiking, combined with views of an active volcano (Volcan Fuego), sky full of stars, views of the city lights before, being above the clouds, lightning storms, and an incredibly fast descent with another adventurous hiker – how could this not be the best things I’ve ever done. The view alone from the top has been unmatched for me so far! With 4 spots on this list, safe to say Guatemala was my favourite country in Central America.

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Awesome Moments/Places in Central America

Leave a comment